I almost forgot the most important part of the last post…

The problem with running too hard, too fast, too long and being airless and dense, is that it reflects the core of my dis-ease. It’s rooted in self. Even when I’m doing a lot of great stuff, I can easily make it all about me. And when I’m acting out, acting badly, rebelling, isolating, that too is all about me.  It’s so easy to get lost in me. This is the ism…, I, self, me.

I am truly grateful for the ability to create this blog (over 300 views in just a month!) and share recovery with you.  It is one way that I get out of myself and back to where I belong…just being a worker among workers, a friend among friends–a part of, which is a gift that I never had when I was drinking and using, and a gift it took years of sobriety for me to even recognize that I wanted.

