Welcome to September! As we usher in National Recovery Month, I’m reminded that so much of recovery is about learning and relearning how to live on the planet. Drinking and using used to be my problem.  Thankfully those have not been solutions to my problems for many years, but I am continually humbled by how much there is to learn about being alive. Today’s meditation is a Native American prayer which I find to be a great comfort as I continue to trudge:

Earth, teach me quiet, as the grasses are still with new light.

Earth, teach me suffering, as old stones suffer with memory.

Earth, teach me humility, as blossoms are humble with beginning.

Earth, teach me caring, as mothers nurture their young.

Earth, teach me courage, as the tree that stands alone.

Earth, teach me limitation, as the ant that crawls on the ground.

Earth, teach me freedom, as the eagle that soars in the sky.

Earth, teach me acceptance, as the leaves that die each fall.

Earth, teach me renewal, as the seed that rises in the spring.

Teach me to forget myself, as melted snow forgets its life,

and to remember kindness, as dry fields weep with rain.

This Ute prayer reminds me that whatever cosmic force it is that we are a part of, life on this planet holds many lessons if we will only open our eyes and our awareness to them.  Many human beings suffer the pain of addiction, whether it’s their own or someone elses. As sober people who have found freedom from this pain, we are responsible for carrying the message that there is life and joy beyond the pain of addiction.  Peace 🙂

